Book Review: Shatter Me

shatter-me-new-eye-co1a459Publisher:  Harper
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Release Date:  October 2, 2012
Pages: 338 pages
Format: Paperback
Series: Shatter Me, Book 1
Genre(s): Fiction, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Romance, Young Adult
Reviewed by:  mkgdes
Rating: 3/5

Summary:
Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior. (Source: Goodreads.com)

shatter-me

Review:
One of the best things about the book is how Tahereh Mafi wrote it in ‘prose’. I write the same way as hers. It captures both the beauty and dynamic of the words — more meaningful, beautiful, and fancy. On the other hand, there’s a downside when you write prose. It gets too overly dramatic, unnecessary, and over-descriptive that it feels you’re in a crossroad trying to decipher which way to embark on the journey. As much as the words are enticing, it could have stick on the main road — sharp, plain, and simple. There are some passages that I find it hard to comprehend.

The strikethroughs are very unique and artistic, and I really love the way she uses it. Our thoughts, sometimes, are bound to say otherwise. Mafi picturesquely included it whereas other novels wouldn’t. But nearing the end, the strikethroughs had disappeared almost entirely. To have it uniquely written, consistency throughout the book should have displayed all along.

Juliette was endearingly soft, Adam was the cliché of lovable too-good-to-be-true hero, and Warner was still a complicated psychotic to me. Juliette’s fatal flaw has always been her insecurity. Sympathising with her was a natural case and I hope that it would stop. Her self-pity was unbearable (to me, to say the least) and I had a high hopes of her redemption and it was at the very last chapters. Accepting who and what you are and run the world.

Overall, the book is nothing but a dystopian setting Romance story. Love triangle at its finest. One mystifying douchebag jerk (Warner) and a super unflawed perfect (Adam) male characters and a damsel in distress femme-fatale. So now, we’re bringing this organization down and fight for our freedom. And that for me, is too cliché.

Interestingly, I wanted to know more about Juliette’s power — how she came with that unnatural gift but the story just lead me right to a secret organization that houses more of them. Was this a mutation that made them who they were? An experiment of the government?

And the twist that surrounds both Adam and Warner hangs in the balance. I do believe that they possess some uncanny gifts just like Juliette but that is yet to be discovered probably in the next book/s.

Warner’s POV, literally, made my jaw dropped. Shatter Me described him as a grade A classic psychotic douchebag. I’m really pissed at him for almost at all things. BUT! the moment I read his POV at the last pages of the book, I just missed something here. He was entirely different than how Juliette portrayed him. In the book, he was nothing but a black and black. And that my friend piqued my interest in reading the next installments.

P.S. I’m saying this again, Adam being all too perfect doesn’t appeal much to me. And a vanilla-type Juliette doesn’t mix well with a vanilla-type obsessed Adam to me. I’m not saying that I am rooting for Warner but it’s good to read a little conflicting sides on a romantic story. It adds up some spice.

mkgdes

Leave a Reply

